Fox's Journal

Hello!

I’m Fox, and welcome to the journal (of doom? possibly). I joined up in September of 2019, and pretty quickly after that, my life started changing rapidly. I haven’t been nearly as active as I’d like and spend most of my time getting confused by the puzzles. Research? I can handle that! Visual puzzles and ciphers and things? I’m rubbish.

My pronouns are she/her.

I’m a Verdurant-bearing Balimora. I tend to run around exclaiming at things and how they’re pretty or awesome, so this feels right to me.

I live in Central Texas fairly close to where I grew up. I’ve spent quite a bit of time in the Midwest (Nebraska and Wisconsin), but I moved back to Texas to help take care of my mom who is getting older.

I work in the emergency management field. I help train first responders how to prepare for and respond to large-scale disasters. I also work with different departments at my workplace (a university) to develop their continuity plans. It’s incredibly fun and rewarding - except when I have to deal with all the horrible stuff like mass fatality planning which is extremely interesting but also very sad. :sob: My current focus at work is helping to run our mass vaccination hub for covid.

I’ve been very focused on my writing this year, and I’m submitting stories almost once a week through Reedsy under a pseudonym. (There’s a published author who shares my actual name.) I’ve been shortlisted three times but I’m yet to win a contest. I also got an honorable mention for a 100 word horror story I submitted through Scribophile earlier this year. So that’s really exciting!

When I’m not at work or playing with my mostly-dachshund Scoops or writing, I can be found reading, knitting, or playing Animal Crossing. I’m also in the planning stages to create another computer game - this one will be about a witch’s familiar on a quest to find ingredients.

13 Likes